Hamilton Adams Jefferson

In this incisively drawn book, Darren Staloff forcefully reminds us that America owes its guiding political traditions to three Founding Fathers whose lives embodied the collision of Europe's grand Enlightenment project with the birth of ...

Hamilton  Adams  Jefferson

Where The Ideas for which We Stand came from. In this incisively drawn book, Darren Staloff forcefully reminds us that America owes its guiding political traditions to three Founding Fathers whose lives embodied the collision of Europe's grand Enlightenment project with the birth of the nation. Alexander Hamilton, the worldly New Yorker; John Adams, the curmudgeonly Yankee; Thomas Jefferson, the visionary Virginia squire—each governed their public lives by Enlightenment principles, and for each their relationship to the politics of Enlightenment was transformed by the struggle for American independence. Repeated humiliation on America's battlefields banished Hamilton's youthful idealism, leaving him a disciple of Enlightened realpolitik and the nation's leading exponent of modern statecraft. After ten years in Europe's diplomatic trenches, Adams's embrace of the politics of Enlightenment became increasingly skeptical in spirit, and his public posture became increasingly that of the gadfly of his country. And Jefferson's frustrations as a Revolutionary governor in Virginia led him to go beyond his Enlightened worldview, and articulate a new and radical Romantic politics of principle. As a consequence, Americans demand a government that is both modern, constrained by checks and balances, and capable of appealing to our loftiest aspirations while adhering to decidedly pragmatic policies.

More Books:

Hamilton, Adams, Jefferson
Language: en
Pages: 432
Authors: Darren Staloff
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-02-06 - Publisher: Hill and Wang

Where The Ideas for which We Stand came from. In this incisively drawn book, Darren Staloff forcefully reminds us that America owes its guiding political traditions to three Founding Fathers whose lives embodied the collision of Europe's grand Enlightenment project with the birth of the nation. Alexander Hamilton, the worldly
Jefferson and Hamilton
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: John Ferling
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-01 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

For readers of Ron Chernow's Alexander Hamilton, the spellbinding history of the epic rivalry that shaped our republic: Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and their competing visions for America. The decade of the 1790s has been called the “age of passion.” Fervor ran high as rival factions battled over the course
Hamilton versus Jefferson in the Washington Administration
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: John Ferling
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher:

Books about Hamilton versus Jefferson in the Washington Administration
John Adams and Thomas Jefferson
Language: en
Pages: 32
Authors: Jill Keppeler
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-15 - Publisher: Gareth Stevens Publishing LLLP

Great friendships are not always easy. The friendship between Founding Fathers John Adams and Thomas Jefferson was downright rocky, so much so that they're sometimes called the "Founding Frenemies." With this unique book, readers will learn about the relationship, friendly and otherwise, between two of the United States' most well-known
Words of the Founding Fathers
Language: en
Pages: 351
Authors: Steve Coffman
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-08-02 - Publisher: McFarland

This collection gathers quotations, passages and documents attributed to America’s six essential founders. Topics include liberty, religion, revolution, republican government, the constitution, education, commerce, class, war and peace, and the disenfranchised (slaves, Native Americans and women). Each quotation is sourced and quoted fully enough for the reader to discern its