Sibylline Sisters

In Fanthorpe's version, Mary rewrites history and establishes solidarity with her sister: Still, Josh himself, as I said—well, he is only The ... 238) In 'Carthage: An Historical Guide', Fanthorpe presents a Dido whose 28 Sibylline Sisters.

Sibylline Sisters

The history of Virgil and his receptions is long and varied. His twentieth-century career transformed his appearance as an anaemic imitator of Homer into the 'Father of the West', speaking above all for the marginalized and exiled. At the turn of the millennium it is women writers who, having been largely absent from the story of Virgil's reception, are for the first time shaping a new aetas Vergiliana by drawing on his poems to speak of their own preoccupations and concerns. Through an analysis of Virgil's presence in the work of contemporary women writers from North America (Joyce Carol Oates, Janet Lembke, Ursula Le Guin), Britain (Margaret Drabble, A. S. Byatt, Ruth Fainlight, Michèle Roberts, Carol Ann Duffy, U. A. Fanthorpe, Josephine Balmer), Ireland (Eavan Boland), and continental Europe (Christa Wolf, Hélène Cixous, Charlotte Delbo and Monique Wittig), this book identifies a new Virgil: one who speaks in female tones of the anxieties, exclusions, pleasures, and threats of the contemporary world. While each of the female writers included in this volume draws upon her own distinct cultural heritage, Cox focuses on a number of shared themes and values which emerge through their work. Through the works of these modern versions of the Sibyl, Virgil speaks both of explicitly female concerns and wider cultural issues and threats that shadow modern life.

More Books:

Sibylline Sisters
Language: en
Pages: 284
Authors: Fiona Cox
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-09 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

Through an analysis of Virgil's presence in the work of contemporary women writers from North America, Britain, Ireland and continental Europe, this book identifies a new Virgil: one who speaks in female tones of the anxieties, exclusions pleasures and threats of the contemporary world.
Michelangelo in the New Millennium
Language: en
Pages: 264
Authors: Tamara Smithers
Categories: Art
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-02-22 - Publisher: BRILL

Michelangelo in the New Millennium addresses the mobility and flexibility of Michelangelo’s art regarding placement and intention, considers the artist’s late papal painting commissions, and probes deeper into his early religious works.
The Way of Awen
Language: en
Pages: 480
Authors: Kevan Manwaring
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-06 - Publisher: John Hunt Publishing

Awaken the bard within in this inspiring journey into your creative potential. Expanding upon the foundation of The Bardic Handbook, this volume explores the transformations the bardic initiate must go through to become a fully-fledged Bard. This originally took 12 years of study in the Bardic Colleges - but communities
Rome: The Emperor's Spy (Rome 1)
Language: en
Pages: 592
Authors: Manda Scott
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-06-01 - Publisher: Random House

From THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING author Manda Scott, a heady, fast-paced and exciting historical adventure full of religious and political tensions, passion and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden. "As exciting as Ben Hur, and far more accurate..." - The Independent. "A gripping tale..."
Artemis: Eye of Gaea
Language: en
Pages: 254
Authors: Valerie Willis
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-26 - Publisher: 4 Horsemen Publications, Inc.

The quest to return the eye is still unfolding. Cedric, Angeline, Romasanta, and Nyctimus have crossed over into the Otherworld where spirits, faeries, and other strange creature live under the rule of the Halls of Gaea and many other forgotten titans. Again, Cedric finds himself separated from Angeline, but the